Pro-European party wins Moldovan elections, communists re-enter parliament

After two years of political instability and crisis, Moldovans voted in a snap parliamentary election on Sunday, July 11, where the pro-European Action and Solidarity Party (PAS) led by Igor Grosu won a majority and is set to form the new government

July 13, 2021 by Peoples Dispatch

In the elections held to the 101-seat Moldovan parliament on Sunday, July 11, the pro-European, center-right Action and Solidarity Party (PAS) won the majority by securing 63 seats and 52.80% of the votes. The Electoral Bloc of Communists and Socialists (BECS) won 32 seats and 27.17% votes, while the pro-Russian Eurosceptic ‘Sor’ party managed six seats and 5.74% votes. Moldova went for the snap elections on Sunday after a long period marred by political uncertainties, constitutional crisis and short-lived governments following the 2019 general elections.

In the February 2019 Moldovan parliamentary elections, no party won a simple majority, leading to political instability in the country. In the period since, two short-lived coalition governments were formed under the leadership of Maia Sandu, from the Action and Solidarity Party (PAS) (from June-November 2019), and technocrat Ion Chicu (November 2019-December 2020), respectively. Political opponents’ scheming against Sandu’s cabinet resulted in a constitutional crisis in the country. Ruptures in the coalitions and support blocs led to the fall of both governments and calls for fresh parliamentary elections strengthened by the end of last year. Meanwhile, Sandu got elected as the president of Moldova in November 2020 by defeating Igor Dodon from the Party of Socialists of the Republic of Moldova (PSRM).

Moldovan politics and society, like many other post-Soviet Republics, has become deeply polarized over relations with the European Union (EU) and Russia. According to many observers, the new parliament’s election is likely to bring relative political stability in the country as the PAS led by Igor Grosu has won a simple majority. 

At the same time, after an interval of two years, the Party of Communists of the Republic of Moldova (PCRM) led by former president Vladimir Voronin has re-entered the parliament with 10 members as part of the BECS coalition with the social-democrats PSRM. From 1998 to 2008, Moldovan polity was dominated by the pro-Russian PCRM. Since 2014, the party has weakened drastically due to internal rifts and splits. The PCRM failed to win any seats in the 2019 elections. It joined hands with the PSRM in May 2021 to form the BECS. 

Following the announcement of the results on July 12, the BECS leadership stated that they will form a strong, responsible and professional opposition in the country. “We will make sure that the government fulfills their promises, increases the pensions and salaries. We will sanction any abuse and worsening of the quality of life in the Republic of Moldova,” the BECS leadership said.

× To Subscribe